Nonetheless, the most widely accepted tenets of Jewish faith are probably those defined by the twelfth century Rabbi, Moshe ben Maimon (Maimonides), known as his Thirteen Principles of Jewish Faith:


1.  God is the Creator and Ruler of all things.


2.  God is One and unique.


3.  God is incorporeal, and there is nothing like unto Him.


4.  God is eternal.


5.  Prayer is to be directed to God alone.


6.  The words of the prophets are true.

7.Moses was the greatest of the prophets.


8.  The Written Torah (i.e., the Pentateuch, the first five books of the Old
Testament) and Oral Torah (teachings now codified in the Mishna and Talmud)
were given to Moses.


9.  The Torah will never be changed, and there will never be another given by God.

10.  God knows the thoughts and deeds of men.


11.God will reward the good and punish the wicked.


12.  The Messiah will come.


13.  The dead will be resurrected.



Other definitions of Jewish creed exist, but in general the variations are minor, and for the purpose of this book, the above list is considered the most representative model. : Know Islam, Know paradise


Subscribe to our free email alerts and newsletter or send your email address to [email protected]



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here